About Jack

I think I’ll have to buy the book…

JACK MONROE

Image

Here’s some general facts about me. I was born in Southend on Sea, Essex, in 1988. I attended Westcliff High School for Girls,  gaining 4 and a half A*-C GCSEs. I’m often asked about the ‘half’ – it was a short course in Religious Studies. I left at 16 and worked full time in ‘odd jobs’, retail and coffee shops and waitressing, before joining Essex County Fire and Rescue Service in 2007 to work in their control room. I left in November 2011, unable to work the night shifts as a then single parent to a 20 month old son.

I started writing this blog, A Girl Called Jack, in February 2012, in response to a local councillor who claimed that ‘druggies, drunks and single mums are ruining the High Street.’ What started as a local politics blog developed into budget food and recipes, which were picked up with interest…

View original post 516 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

